Monday, July 5, 2010


Sonic Vigil V
St Fin Barre’s Cathedral
Sat 17TH July, 1pm-8pm

Curated by The Quiet Club and Gruenrekorder, Sonic Vigil returns with a stunning line-up of leading international experimental musicians and sound artists and practitioners from the booming Irish scene. This unique event, a SEVEN HOUR marathon of experimental music and sound art, will take place in St Fin Barre’s Cathedral on Saturday 17th July.
The Quiet Club was formed in 2006 by Danny Mc Carthy and Mick O’Shea, two of Ireland’s foremost sound artists, as an outlet for their own work and that of other artists. Gruenrekorder is a German-based record label focusing on phonography and sound art. Gruenrekorder’s speciality is field recording, the investigation of nature and the environment as an acoustic experience.
A major highlight this year is the participation of David Toop, recognised as one of the world’s leading exponents of sound art. Toop’s new book Sinister Resonance: The Mediumship of the Listener is due to be published next month.
Of special note in Sonic Vigil V are performances by poets from the SoundEye Festival, including Maggie O’Sullivan, a master of word music and verbal sound effect.
The audience will also be treated to several quadraphonic sound pieces, the premier of John Byrne’s Turntable Parlour Orchestra (which involves twenty artists performing on turntables), and the live sound manipulation of Roland Etzin, Lasse-Marc Riek and D’incise.
Coinciding with Sonic Vigil V will be the launch of Sound Stations. These listening structures, positioned around the cathedral, were designed by students of the Cork Centre for Architectural Education and fabricated in the National Sculpture Factory. They will contain CDs of works from open submission to a worldwide open call. The Sound Stations will run from the 17-24th July and will be officially launched on World Listening Day, Sunday 18th July

Sonic Vigil V:
David Toop (GB) • Soft Day (Irl) • Lasse-Marc Riek (DE) • The Quiet Music Ensemble (Irl) • Sunfish (Irl) • Karen Power (Irl) • The Quiet Club (Irl) • D’incise (Ch) • Anthony Kelly & David Stalling (Irl/DE) • John Byrne (Irl) • La Société des Amis du Crime (Irl) • MERSK & SoundEye Poets (Irl/UK) • Roland Etzin and Kevin Tuohy (DE/Irl) • The Concerned Parasites ubh Körka Gweena (Irl)

Records from both the Gruenrekorder Label and Far Point Recordings will be available for sale at the concert. Further details from or on

No comments:

Post a Comment